Cactus Flowers – Colors from My Front Yard

One afternoon, my son and I coasted our bikes back into the yard after a short ride, and I realized that every flowering plant in our front yard – mostly cactuses – were in full bloom. This is actually quite rare, and some of these flowers open up only for a few hours during the hottest, sunniest part of the day, so I took advantage of the moment to snap some photos. Included here: Several varieties of Prickly Pear, a stick cholla, an ocotillo bloom, and fairy duster. Later in the summer I will try to capture photos of the antics of the birds, who get drunk on the over-ripe prickly pear fruits. Enjoy the riot of colors from the Arizona desert!

3 thoughts on “Cactus Flowers – Colors from My Front Yard

Leave a Reply

